Memo to the “Super Committee”:

Published: November 9, 2011

By Jim Lichtman
Read More

These are the 12 members of the Congressional “super committee” charged with finding $1.5 trillion in debt savings over the next ten years. They are:

Rep. Jeb Hensarling of Texas (Republican and committee co-chair), Sen. Patty Murray of Washington (Democrat and committee co-chair), Rep. Chris Van Hollen of Maryland (D), Sen. Jon Kyl of Arizona (R), Sen. John Kerry of Massachusetts (D), Sen. Pat Toomey of Pennsylvania (R), Sen. Max Baucus of Montana (D), Sen. Rob Portman of Ohio), Rep. Xavier Becerra of California (D), Rep. Dave Camp of Michigan (R), Rep. James Clyburn of South Carolina (D), and Rep. Fred Upton of Michigan (R).

This is the memo I plan on sending each one:

Ladies and Gentlemen,

Time is running out.

The choices you face are difficult. The budget reductions that must ultimately come will require sacrifice. But you did not run and you were not elected to an easy job. You were elected by people who placed their faith and trust in you to act in the best interests of all.

Have the courage to compromise. Demonstrate the integrity to put the interests of the country ahead of political interests.

Now is the time to provide the leadership you were elected to provide. The country needs that leadership now, more than ever.

Don’t let us down.


Jim Lichtman


There are currently no comments. Why don't you kick things off?

Leave a Comment

Read More Articles
The Latest... And Sometimes Greatest
The Battle for the Hürtgen and One Soldier Who Lived It
In chronicling one of the bloodiest battles of World War II, historian Charles Whiting writes, “Thirty thousand American G.I.’s were killed or wounded in the...
May 27, 2022
“I’ve Had Enough,” And So Should All of Us
After learning of yet another mass shooting in a fourth-grade Elementary School in Uvalde, Texas, Golden State Warriors’ Coach Steve Kerr brushed off questions about...
May 25, 2022
How Far They Have Fallen
The lead story in Sunday’s New York Times sums up how far Donald Trump has usurped many Republican state legislatures, political leadership in Congress and...
May 24, 2022
Our Bitter Harvest
“Now is the winter of our discontent made glorious summer by this sun of York.” —Richard III, Act I, sc. 1 In March 1954, Democratic...
May 20, 2022
The Leak
The leak of a US Supreme Court draft decision raised a lot of concerns about the state of confidentiality and trust of the high court....
May 17, 2022
We Are Americans
Character is a word that’s rarely used today; rarer still is finding leaders who demonstrate character. But there are a few. Republicans Liz Cheney and...
May 13, 2022